Freedom of Information Act

Mayor, City Council, Executive Staff Building Locations

Freedom of Information Officer

Rudy L. Witsman
219 N. Market St.
(618) 262-4822
(618) 262-4208
FOIA Officer

Mount Carmel has a strong mayor-council form of government. The Mayor chairs all meetings of the City Council. The Mayor and four members of the City Council work part-time, holding budget and policy-setting authority for the City.

The Mayor and City Council members are elected at large by popular vote for a term of four years. City Council members are elected to a specific Council seat, but the seats are not determined geographically. City elections are held in odd numbered years every fourth year (e.g. 2007, 2011, 2015). The next city election will be held on the first Tuesday in April 2019.

The City Council meets formally every other Monday at 5:00 p.m. The Mayor is responsible for the Police Department as well as the public affairs of the City. Each Commissioner is responsible for their respective departments. The four departments are: Finances and Senior Citizens; Streets, Cemeteries and Parks; Fire Health and Safety, City Hall, Garbage and Civil Defense; and Water and Sewer.

The City Clerk, City Treasurer, Comptroller and all Department Heads are appointed with the consent of the Mayor and City Council.

The City Clerk’s office provides centralized direction and leadership for the effective administration and operations of all municipal services for the City of Mount Carmel as directed by the City Council. It also serves as the focal point for the management of the City staff agencies. The City Clerk’s Office prepares and submits to the City Council a balanced plan of municipal services in adherence with the policy goals and objectives established by the City Council while employing such managerial techniques as needed to assure efficient and effective utilization of the City’s resources. The City Clerk is responsible for the day to day operation of the City and also serves as the Freedom of Information Officer.

There are currently 50 full-time employees and 75 part-time and seasonal workers. The operating budget for fiscal year 2018, which runs from May 1, 2017 to April 30, 2018, is $10,931,000


What types of materials are available without filing a FOIA request?

Council Minutes (also available on our web site. Liquor Control Minutes Ordinances )

What types of materials are available through a FOIA request?

Employee List
Employee Salaries
Pension Information

This is not an all inclusive list of available materials.

If you need copies of records from the City of Mount Carmel, please obtain and complete a Freedom of Information Request Form from the City Clerk’s Office or follow the link below. When completed return your Freedom of Information Request to Rudy L. Witsman at City Hall.

FOIA Request Form

Records are housed at the following locations:

City Hall/City Clerk’s Office – 219 Market St.
Fire Department – 830 Walnut St.
Police Department – 110 E. 4th St.

Records and information will be made available for inspection and copying unless the records or information are exempt under the Freedom of Information Act (list of exemptions available upon request in the City Clerk’s Office). Records can be given to you in an electronic format if the requested format is feasible for the City. If the requested format is not feasible, then, at the requester’s option, the City will provide the records in the electronic format in which they are kept or in paper form.

Each request will be complied with or denied within five business days after its receipt. The five day period may be extended by an additional five business days if the City can demonstrate that certain conditions exist, such as a large amount of records or the need for extensive review.

If the City denies a records request, then the requester may seek review of that denial either through the Illinois Attorney General’s Public Access Counselor or through the court. The Public Access Counselor’s phone number is: 312-814-5526 or 877-299-3642, the fax number is: 217-782-1396, and the e-mail address is:

Charge per copy:
First 50 pages copied are free, then .15 per sheet for black and white, letter or legal sized copies.

Charge per Electronic format:
The cost of materials will be charged.

Charge for Certification:
$1.00 (excluding Police Department and Library)

Building Locations

City Hall
219 Market Street

Includes Following Offices:

City Clerk
Building Inspector
Community Betterment
Water Department Billing

Fire Station

830 Walnut St.

Water & Sewage Maintenance

811 Poplar St.

Police Station

110 E. 4th St.

Public Library

727 N. Mulberry St.

Sewage Treatment Plant

125 S. Division St.

Water Treatment Plant

119 S. Cherry St.



Jim Henning, Kenneth Kline, Jim Litherland, Bill Hudson, Bob Mundy Jr., Charles Sanders, Jim Wilderman

Area Agency on Aging

Eleanor Painter, Chester Miles

Fire and Police

Ed Hicks, Jack Rother, Shad White

Fire Pension

Rudy Witsman, Terry Mc Guire, Aaron Brown, Glen Markle, Mark Seaton

Greater Wabash Regional Planning Commission

Joseph Judge


Sharon Purvis, Scott Witsman, Bill Easton, Mina Nolan, Rian Waterbury, Nancy Price, Patrice Youngs, Verlin Snow, Karin Hodgson

Police Pension

Don Price, Jared Price, Ryan Turner, Jeff Besing, Rudy Witsman

Revolving Loan Fund

Rob Coleman, Joe Judge, Bill Hudson, Rudy Witsman, C. Michael Witters


Robert Bethards, Bill Hudson


Harold Bailey, Tony Bowles, Patty Bramlet, Tim Raibley, Bill Mabry, Bob McGregor, Jeff Parker